Log in


About The Harold Gunn Scholarship Fund

When Harold Gunn, a member of the Texas Radio Hall of Fame, became president of the Texas Auto Writers Association, he was determined to create a scholarship fund that would help make paying for college easier for aspiring journalists.

Over the course of his multiple terms, he was instrumental in collecting enough money to ensure that future TAWA administrations could use the fund to benefit the writers of tomorrow.

His accomplishments were honored in 2009 when TAWA officially named its scholarship the Harold Gunn Scholarship for Journalism.

About Harold Gunn
  • More than 50 years in broadcasting.
  • Named a “Broadcast Pioneer” by the Texas Association of Broadcasters, and is a 2009 inductee into the Texas Radio Hall of Fame. Received      many regional and national awards for journalism.
  • Writer, producer and talent for radio and television commercials.
  • Writer, producer, director and talent on regular television programs since  1970, including “Standing Room Only,” “Houston Monthly,” “DBA,” and        “Captain Harold’s Theatre of the Sky” -- the longest-running movie-host    program in Houston television history. Produced programming regionally,    nationally and for syndication.
  • Producer and host of interview programs for KRIV-TV, syndicated on          Metromedia for 10 years.
  • Entertainment producer and reporter for the news on KPRC-TV (NBC) in  Houston with segments syndicated through Group W’s “Entertainment      Report,” and airing on KNBC-TV in Los Angeles.
  • Produced segments for “Entertainment Tonight,” “Geraldo,” ESPN’s            “MotorWeek,” and specials for PBS.
  • Magazine entertainment columnist for more than 30 years.
  • Entertainment reporter on radio and television for 40-plus years.
  • Producer/host of “Standing Room Only” radio/television entertainment    review segments for more than 30 years.
  • Media and publicity director of “The Jack Benny Memorial Tennis              Tournament” benefiting the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation. At that time, it was the nation’s largest-grossing charity tennis event.
  • Public relations and promotions director for the grand opening of Texas  World Speedway.

About The Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA)

The Texas Auto Writers Association, Inc. was founded in 1987 by automotive journalists who wanted to provide other writers an avenue for professional growth, development, and networking.

These professionals sought to create an automotive event that was unique to Texas. The result was the Texas Truck Rodeo. It is now a nationally known event attended by a variety of automotive manufacturers and renowned journalists from all over the United States. Writers drive dozens of crossovers, SUVs, and trucks to determine the winners of several categories and crown the “SUV of Texas” and the “Truck of Texas.”

In 2003, TAWA created an event for sedans, sports cars, and other vehicles not eligible for the Truck Rodeo. The TAWA Spring Challenge, as it was originally known, was held in the Texas Hill Country near Austin. The Texas Auto Roundup, as the event is called today, takes place at the Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth.

Click here for more information about the Texas Auto Writers Association.


Terms and Conditions             Privacy Policy             Site Map             Admin Apps Login